Monday, June 18, 2018

Menu Monday for 6/18/18

Menu planning hasn't been going very well here at Homeschool Review. One more week has arrived with little to no menu planning, and I feel like we're flying by the seat of our pants figuring out what we're serving this week. We're trying to minimize shopping and use freezer meals as a result of not having planned. So here's what it looks like:

Saturday: Salad plate: hard boiled eggs, tuna salad, wedges of cheddar cheese, lots of fresh vegetables

Sunday: Father's Day - we traveled to visit our daughter one state to the south and ate dinner out at a restaurant called Brooklyn Brothers.

Monday: Ravioli soup, salad, corn bread

Tuesday: Hot dogs, baked beans, cole slaw, potato chips

Wednesday: Beef Pitas, salad

Thursday: Slow cooker chicken cacciatori, noodles, salad

Friday: Date night - dinner out



Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Menu Monday for 6/11/18

Another busy week ahead. For me this is a rather nice week in that some outside activities make cooking unnecessary some nights. Here's the plan:

Saturday: BBQ'd pork chops, Stove Top stuffing, steamed green beans

Sunday: Italian tomato chicken, broccoli, garlic noodles

Monday: Boy Scouts Court of Honor picnic

Tuesday: Spaghetti with meatballs, salad, garlic knots

Wednesday: The guys are out for their last night of ground school (Civil Air Patrol class); I'll eat leftovers

Thursday: pan-fried chicken, rice, mixed vegetables

Friday: date night - dinner out

 


Wednesday, June 6, 2018

Memoria Press Logic - A TOS Homeschool Crew Review

In April I learned there would be another Memoria Press review with the Homeschool Review Crew.

Memoria Press

I was delighted when I learned I would be permitted to review Logic, including both Traditional Logic I Complete Set and Traditional Logic II Complete Set.

Traditional Logic I Complete Set
Traditional Logic II Complete Set

My box arrived and I opened it up. The content of Logic I and Logic II contains a lot of different parts! Each set includes: Student Text, Instructional DVDs, Student Workbook, Teacher Key, and Quizzes and Final Exam book.


When you first get your new materials, it is such a joy! There is that new-book smell. There is that giddy feeling of, "Where do I start?" ...It is like being a kid in a candy factory ...wondering what to taste first! The website lets you see samples from these books (click through the links):
Student Text, Student Workbook, Teacher Key, and Quizzes and Final Exam book.

A high school student can complete Logic I in their first semester and Logic 2 in their second semester to get a full year of credit in "Logic".  I started my study of logic following that plan and focusing on Logic I, Traditional Logic: Introduction to Formal Logic.

I wasn't initially sure where to start, so I started by reading the Introduction in the Text for Introduction to Formal Logic. There is "A Note to the Teacher" before the "Introduction: What is Logic?"


After reading through the Introduction once, I watched the DVD section for the Introduction. I concluded that in the future I would watch the week's DVD lesson before reading the appropriate section in the Student Text.


Next I opened the Student Workbook. The steps in the Student Workbook are very clear. The assignment for "Exercises for Day 1" start by asking you to (re)read a certain section of the chapter before answering the questions for the day.



I learned that Memoria Press Logic was originally used with a co-op class room setting, where the students met together once each week to review past material and learn new material. Then each week the students had daily assignments to complete before the next classroom setting. Some weeks the Workbook had six sections to fill out. This doesn't mean the student has to do weekend homework -- they can certainly do two sections on any given day.


Each week also concludes with a quiz or a test. There is a lot of flexibility in how to implement the various parts of the program. For me, personally, the quiz fits best either doubled up with the workbook on the last day of workbook assignments or doubled up on the Video-watching day before watching the next day's video. Since I prefer to do quizzes while the material is fresh in the mind, I like to do the quizzes on Fridays. I like to do the videos on Mondays. 

I have noticed that the method Memoria Press uses - poco en poco (little by little) - is the best method for learning new concepts. And the method of filling in the workbook, day by day, with repetitive review of the chapter content is very effective to cement retention! Falling into a rhythm of a chapter each week, the material content is very manageable. 

Book 1 focuses on Traditional Logic: Introduction to Formal Logic. It explains in the Introduction that there are two types of logic: traditional logic and modern logic. Traditional logic is the study of the classical syllogism; modern logic involves the study of calculus and propositions. A syllogism is an "argument" with two premises from which you draw a conclusion. Traditional logic involves stating premises, making judgments, and drawing conclusions. There are different things to identify, such as if a premise is true or not (such as "George Washington was a man," vs. "George Washington was a poodle"). One also needs to determine if the conclusion drawn is logical or not based on the premises given. There are so many terms and definitions to learn and identify -- I could go on a long time! This course also covers formal logic, not informal logic. Informal logic involves the discussion of fallacies. That discussion has a place, but it is not covered in this course.

Here is a peek at the Table of Contents:
I look forward to working in Traditional Logic II later this year, where I will study Advanced Formal Logic
Just like Traditional Logic 1, the Memoria Press website has links to look at samples of these books from Traditional Logic 2: Student Text, Student Workbook, Teacher Key, and Quizzes and Final Exam book.

Glancing at the Table of Contents, Book 2 seems to cover content from Book 1 but at a deeper level. Here is a look at the Table of Contents to Advanced Formal Logic:
Memoria Press has never disappointed me -- I have never used a Memoria Press product that I did not love! I am so delighted with Memoria Press Traditional Logic. I will always remember the line from The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe, where the Professor is bemoaning that the schools no longer teach the children logic. Because of this I always wanted to study logic myself and teach it to my children. I am pleased that I now am working on learning logic.

I remember days when my family was in co-op with the Scott Somerville family, and Scott would explain to the kids, "If A = B and B = C, the A = C!" And I remembered that much from Geometry studies. On the contrary, if A = B but B does not equal C, then A does not equal C. All these are parts of logic. Oh, this all intertwines with debate as well! Because to win a debate you just have to win that the argument is is valid from its premises! You don't have to prove that the premises are true! I mean, some are obvious, like it is true Socrates was a man. In complex debates, though, the premises might not be obviously true or false, but if you can prove that the conclusion flows logically from the premises you can win the debate (even with false premises!). I love this stuff! It can be so fun!

I have always loved the way Memoria Press encourages moms to not just educate their students but also to educate themselves. It is much easier to teach a subject you know yourself. It is difficult to learn the subject while teaching it to your students. It can also be embarrassing, because the young mind learns the material so much faster than our older brains! If you do not think your own kids are ready for Formal Logic yet, you might consider studying it yourself this year (like I am) so that you can teach it to your children next year!

Other members of The Old Schoolhouse Homeschool Review Crew also reviewed Traditional Logic, or one of many composition or cursive courses Memoria Press offers. To read more reviews of Memoria Press products, please click the link below:
New American Cursive & Traditional Logic {Memoria Press Reviews}

Monday, June 4, 2018

Menu Monday for 6/4/18

This week we're mostly winging it from the pantry and the freezer! Here's the plan:

Saturday: my guys were out of town. I attended an Eagle Court of Honor and ate some food there (not much), and had some lentil soup when I got home.

Sunday: Hubby got Chinese food!

Monday: salmon, tater tots, kale salad

Tuesday: Impossible spinach pie, kale salad, King Hawaiian rolls

Wednesday: Guys ate out (Civil Air Patrol Ground School Class). I ate leftovers

Thursday: pre-prepared freezer meal

Friday: date night: dinner out

 

Monday, May 28, 2018

Menu Monday for 5/28/18

Running late, so with no fanfare here is the plan for this week's dinners:



Saturday (5/26):  Bacon, Lettuce and Tomato Sandwiches, milk shakes

Sunday (5/27):  brisket, potatoes, carrots, salad, rolls

Monday (5/28): cheeseburgers, potato chips, salad

Tuesday (5/29): spaghetti, salad, Texas toast

Wednesday (5/30): navy bean soup, salad, rolls

Thursday (5/31)(CAP): pan fried chicken, rice, broccoli

Friday (6/1): Guys out on CAP training exercise




Sunday, May 27, 2018

A Homeschool Graduation




It started many years ago, when a little boy was five years old, and his mom and dad didn't send him off to Kindergarten.

 It is amazing that we've reached the end of our journey! 

On May 11, 2018, our little guy, now a man, officially graduated from our home school.

We had our oldest in from Denver, and our middle daughter in from Virginia with her husband. We set our date, ordered a cake, arranged for the immediate family to be in attendance. We invited our son to invite friends and asked him who else would he like to have at our celebration.

And then the graduate announced that he really didn't want to make a big deal out of this.

Well, too bad! So we love our graduate and want him to have his day the way he wants to have his day, but we still required him to make some concessions for us. We would keep it to immediate family, but we still wanted to present the diploma and celebrate with a nice meal and cake.

So our young man conceded. Donning his cap and gown, he put up with us holding a small formal ceremony where we awarded him his diploma.
 His dad read through the diploma to him...


 And awarded the diploma with a hand shake...


 And then posed for a few photographs for us.


After a lovely meal of rib eye steak on the grill with fried onions, baked potatoes, and salad, we served the cake. It was cut once before we remembered to photograph it.



So our lad is graduated and is moving on to college. It is an exciting time. And it is a turning point for this blog. How can I call myself "Homeschool Review" when I have no more students? The end of a 27-year era for me. I guess I become "Homeschool Recovery" or "Homeschool Retired" or something?... Well, to be determined.

Onward to college and Air Force ROTC!


I would like to once again extend my gratitude to Homeschool Diploma for their kindness in providing our family with Vintage Diploma with the optional add on Cap & Gown package to help us make our graduation celebration  particularly memorable for our last homeschool student. I am so thankful we were able to do that for our son.

To read about more graduates of the Homeschool Review Crew in 2018, please click the button below.
New American Cursive & Traditional Logic {Memoria Press Reviews}

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Menu Monday for 5/21/18

This week I am calling "Plant Strong". That means some of the meals are leaning more vegan/vegetarian. Here's the plan:


Saturday (5/19):  French Lentils, salad

Sunday (5/20):  black bean chili, corn tortillas, salad

Monday (5/21): French bread pizza, salad

Tuesday (5/22): picadillo, biscuits, salad

Wednesday (5/23): navy bean soup, salad, rolls

Thursday (5/24)(CAP): pan fried chicken, rice, broccoli

Friday (5/25):  Date night/dinner out
 


3