Friday, February 5, 2016

Free - Read The Old Schoolhouse Winter Edition!

2016 Winter Issue of The Old Schoolhouse® Magazine

Read the magazine on the go with the free mobile app available at www.TOSApps.com or read it on your computer or laptop at www.TOSMagazine.com.
The Old Schoolhouse® Magazine is the trade magazine for homeschool families.
Don't forget to check out the curriculum arm of The Old Schoolhouse®, SchoolhouseTeachers.com. With around 200 courses to choose from (preschool through high school) and no extra textbooks to buy, $1 is all you pay for a 30 day trial of this "online classroom community". Come grab all six homeschool planners the first day!

Nook images, device, and name are a trademark of Barnes and Noble, Android images, devices, and names are a trademark of Google Inc. Kindle Fire device and name are a trademark of Amazon.com, Inc. iPad, iPod, and iPhone devices as well as Apple name are registered trademarks of Apple, Inc.

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Menu Monday (Tuesday) for 2/1/16

orgjunkie.com
Sorry this is late. Yesterday got side-railed with issues related to registering son for a local community college class for dual enrollment. (The "advisor" wasn't doing much advising; son's college email account won't let him log in; he is on wait list for classes, but won't know if he gets in if he cannot log into his college email account; and on and on...) And last night was our Scout Troop's winter Court of Honor.

This dual enrollment effort has been going on for weeks, and menu planning suffered as well. With little time, it was thrown together quickly this week, so

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Our America . . . The Revolutionary War Adventure [A Review]

My son and I were blessed by the opportunity to read for review Our America . . . The Revolutionary War Adventure, by Susan Kilbride.


The Revolutionary War Adventure is the continuing adventures of twins Finn and Ginny as they hunt for their mom and dad, who have gotten lost somewhere in time. That's right -- they've gotten lost in TIME! Uncle Peter, a physicist, invented a small remote-like device that enables time travel. Finn and Ginny's parents were probably holding hands, watching television, when one of them pushed a button on the "remote" and caused them to be transported to some other time and place. They haven't been heard from since.

Whenever Finn and Ginny get a chance, when their Aunt and Uncle go out and leave them home, Finn and Ginny use the remote and hunt for their parents. I reviewed books about their previous Our America adventures: The Pilgrim's Adventure, The King Philip's War Adventure and The Salem Adventure.

In the Our America Adventures, Finn and Ginny experience American history in a hands-on unforgetable way. As their story is told, the student is gripped by the drama, held by the conflict, and worried by the potential dangers. This series of adventures is written for students aged 10 to 13, but can hold the attention of a much wider age range. When read aloud, your younger students can stay focused through the short chapters. And since we've been reading these adventures for a couple of years now, my 16 year old still enjoys slowing down from our high school pace to be read aloud to from this series. He likes them. That says a lot.

The Revolutionary War Adventure comes with a free downloadable activity guide, just like each of the other Our America adventures. Additional adventures have already been written, and my son and I have begun reading The Pioneer Adventure. So if you enjoy my reviews of this series, keep watching for when I post my next review.   

Monday, January 25, 2016

Week in Review - Catching Up


As you can see through the window, we've been slammed by the Blizzard of 2016. Unfortunately for our students, there is no snow between the bed and the classroom! Nevertheless, we've schooled a little less for a few days.

That gave me pause to realize I haven't been posting weekly updates here, so as I said above, this post is a "Catching Up" post. (It doesn't mean we're catching up on our schoolwork. We've opted for comprehension over speed in our high school subjects.)

Bible:
As in our last weekly report, we're clipping along at the pace we had planned.

Algebra 2:
We aren't going as fast as I would like, but we are doing well. We have acquired the assistance of a weekly tutor, which the student and I are both benefiting from. Grades are improving; confidence is growing. Yea!

Chemistry:
Neglected for awhile, and not going as fast as I would like, at least some work has gotten done, some lab experiments, and some documentation.

Literature
We're still plugging slowly away at Gulliver's Travels and A Tale of Two Cities. Also started another book by Susan Kilbride about Finn and Ginny's time-travel search for their parents.

Composition:
There has been some work done! Yea! One assignment was a biography of Madison, and will count towards History. There was a pursuasive essay as well, and a compare contrast essay.

Grammar:
Student took the college entrance Accuplacer test and placed as college-ready in Grammar and Reading. I am still going to restart some work in Fix-It Grammar to work on parts of speech.

History:
Finished work in Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin and The Great Little Madison. Wrote a biography paper about Madison. Working now in Year 3 of Tapestry of Grace.

Boy Scouts:
The Scout is receiving three more merit badges at next Monday's Court of Honor. One more merit badge, a project, paperwork... almost to Eagle!

Civil Air Patrol:
Cadet earned a rank advancement. And while we weren't looking, they advanced him! They had advancements on a different night due to holidays, and we weren't expecting it. So we missed this one. He is now a Sr. Airman.
 
And then there was the blizzard...



And the poor home schooler can't get time off for snow days unless mom needs some shoveling done. But she doesn't. This blizzard started Friday night, was done by Sunday night, and was shoveled by Monday morning. Poor boy!

Thursday, January 21, 2016

Menu Plan Monday for 1/25/16

orgjunkie.com

We're expecting to get slammed with a snowstorm, so I needed to shop early. Thought, since I'm ready early I might as well post early. Maybe others use my ideas; maybe they also like to shop on Saturday like my family does. Maybe

Wednesday, January 20, 2016

The Bone Broth Diet

So I'm almost done with the 21 day challenge for The Bone Broth Diet. I don't know if I can get a post done on Saturday (day 22) to tell my weight loss and show my photos, so I thought I'd post an initial "almost done" post.
 
Starting weight: 170
 
Almost done, 12 pounds lost in 19 days, down one pants size. Don't I look good? So happy! #BoneBrothDiet
 





Monday, January 18, 2016

Menu Monday for 1/18/16

orgjunkie.com
So last week I mentioned that I am following The Bone Broth Diet. I have now finished Week 2 and am on Day 3 of Week 3! What I don't think I mentioned last week is that last week

Tuesday, January 12, 2016

FREE PLANNER! One Week Only!

The Old Schoolhouse Magazine is so cool! They are offering their Hey Mama! Planner absolutely free for one week!
 
Are you satisfied with the planner you are using? Grab this anyway! It is an amazing resource full of additional encouragement and information.
 
Don't have a planner, or dissatisfied with the planner you were trying for this school year? Perfect! Grab this planner.
 
Don't need to replace your planner? Grab it and use it next year, Here is the link:
 
FREE for ONE WEEK ONLY:

 The $29 HEY MAMA Planner is 100% off!
 
Free planner offer valid 1/11/16-1/18/16 

3