Monday, February 27, 2017

Menu Monday for 02/27/2017

Another week! When it comes to meal planning, the weeks fly by so quickly (as in, "What? I have to plan more meals again?")

Saturday was crazy. We were out of meals and weren't ready to shop. We ate out. As far as weighing in at Jenny Craig, I've been skipping the weigh-ins for a couple of weeks. Last weigh-in was 149 (by my scale -- I'm not sure what it was on their scale), which is my lowest since long before my 17-year-old was born. I didn't weigh weekly because life was crazy, the weight was up and down, and I couldn't take the stress of seeing a higher number go down on my Jenny Craig records. (So far I have never had a weigh-in where I gained weight from the previous week. I did gain weight over Christmas, but I've lost that weight back off again.) So hopefully I'll have lost a little at my Thursday weigh-in, but I know I'm ready to seriously lose more weight again now, so I don't mind if it is up a few ounces. We'll have to wait and see how I do between now and Thursday.

So here is this week's plan:


Saturday (2/26):  Out (wings, fries)

Sunday (2/27):  rotisserie chicken, broccoli, mashed potatoes

Monday (2/28):  Korean Beef, rice salad

Tuesday (3/1):  baked chicken picatta, salad, noodles

Wednesday (3/2): chili, cornbread, salad

Thursday (3/3)(CAP): ham steak, scalloped potatoes, green beans

Friday (3/4):  dinner out


Monday, February 20, 2017

Menu Monday for 2/20/27



Busy days! I haven't worked on weight loss this week and I did not weigh in this week, so no weight report.
My son's working to become Eagle rank in Boy Scouts. His Eagle project is 2/25, so I'm not sure when we will do grocery shopping... Probably Sunday afternoon. Here are this week's dinner plans:
Saturday (2/18):  chili, cornbread, salad

Sunday (2/19):  Dinner at daughter’s house

Monday (2/20) (PLC Mtg):  spaghetti, meatballs, salad, bread knots

Tuesday (2/21):  lentil soup, salad, rolls

Wednesday (2/22): chicken Caesar salad, TX toast

Thursday (2/23)(CAP):  taco salad

Friday (2/24):  salmon, yams, green beans

Monday, February 13, 2017

Menu Monday for 2/13/17




This week is not a stellar example of a great menu planning week for me. 

Let me start with the good news first, though. At Jenny Craig, at weigh-in, I had lost 1.2 pounds! That brings it to where it was at my lowest before Christmas when I crashed and burned. Sad that it took that long. Great that I got there, since I'm still not entirely applying myself...

Okay, menu plan. I normally make dinner six or seven nights each week. This is not a normal week.

Saturday I cooked a meal from last week that got bumped there by an unexpected pizza night. Sunday we were going to get a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store, but we've been eating a lot of chicken, son wanted Chinese, and... we got Chinese. Tonight I planned subs. Hubby said it costs so much to buy the supplies (for two, since I'm eating something else) that he'll just get it from the sub shop.

Tuesday is Valentine's Day, and the only thing I'm asking for is (drumroll, please...) to eat out. Wednesday is planned, but somehow I managed to put the same thing down for Thursday. Hubby said we'll figure it out later. (Uh-oh!) Friday is planned.

Like I said, not a stellar week. Here it is in normal format:


Saturday (2/11):  corned beef and cabbage, potatoes

Sunday (2/12):  rotisserie chicken, broccoli, Lipton’s noodles Chinese

Monday (2/13) (Boy Scouts):  subs

Tuesday (2/14):  fried chicken dinner from Red Rooster

Wednesday (2/15): flank steak, mashed potatoes, brussels Sprouts

Thursday (2/16)(CAP):  “We’ll figure it out…”

Friday (2/17)(Care Group):  chicken pot pie



Monday, February 6, 2017

Menu Monday for 2/6/17


This week's Menu Monday is a little different.

First, wasn't having a great week in terms of following weight loss plan. Skipped weigh-in.

Second, life did not accommodate my normal creation of a menu plan and a grocery list. This is the first time in a long time where I created my meal plan by walking through the grocery store. Fortunately I did okay, although I'm not about to make this my normal method. Here's this week's plan:

Saturday (2/3):  French Bread Pizza (Italian bread, really…), salad


Sunday (2/4):  Crock pot ribs, potato salad, cole slaw

Monday (2/5)hot dogs, baked beans, raw carrots

Tuesday (2/6):  Oven-Roasted chicken, rice, broccoli

Wednesday (2/7):  Corned beef and cabbage, potatoes

Thursday (2/9)(CAP):  pan-fried chicken breast, asparagus, leftover rice

Friday (2/10):  dinner out 



Sunday, February 5, 2017

The Art of CursiveLogic - A Review


I first learned of CursiveLogic in 2015 . I was given this product to review.  CursiveLogic became one of my favorite products of the year! ...It is still one of my favorite products that I have reviewed. It turned my son from printing to handwriting in a few short weeks (and I'd been trying to teach him cursive for years!).

CursiveLogic has created a new product, and with adult coloring books being all the rage, I think this product is going to be a big winner! Introducing: 

The Art of CursiveLogic


Using a beautiful coloring book style combined with specific stroke instruction, The Art of CursiveLogic teaches adults to write in cursive through an enjoyable, relaxing series of drawings to color.

The book is still in the developmental stage -- I've only seen a partial sample, of which I'm only to show you a partial sample.

CursiveLogic currently has Kickstarter Campaign going to raise funds so they can create this adult coloring book to teach cursive. The more money they receive, the nicer a book they will be able to create. I'm envisioning a spiral book with fine, sturdy perforated pages so they can be separated from the book, colored, and posted for display.

This is such a worthwhile project! In my area public school students are no longer taught cursive except to create their own signature. They are unable to read checks people write in cursive, or handwritten cards they receive in the mail, or even our country's original documents of the founding fathers! I've been so glad to have CursiveLogic to recommend to people to teach their kids cursive almost overnight! I can't wait to see the adult coloring book in its final form! 

Please considering going to the Kickstarter page and making a donation to help this worthwhile project. Watch the video there to see more about the book project.

I received sample pages of this product in exchange for my honest opinion.





2017 Weeks 4 and 5 in Review


The student is attending Spanish I and Sociology classes Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays at our local community college through the Dual Enrollment program.
These classes are his main focus right now, but in addition he is taking an online Accuplacer preparation course. He is supposed to be working on Geometry as well, but right now he is not.

The student is also a Boy Scout and is in the final stretch to reach the rank of Eagle Scout.
His Eagle project proposal has received a few revisions and has gotten all its signatures. Weather permitting, the project work should be accomplished at the end of February.

The project is reclaiming a section of forest at a local county park that has previously been a hiking trail. The trail has been rerouted and the old trail needs to become forest again. Trees will be planted and the path covered with forest debris to discourage use by hikers and to give nature the opportunity for regrowth there. It helps the county park out, and my son is pretty excited about the project.

My son is also a Civil Air Patrol cadet (Master Sergeant) and attends meetings on Thursday nights. This past Thursday was ABUs night (uniform name - Airman Battle Utility). 


The weather has been amazing for February (40-50s), but the cold seems to be returning (thank you, Pauxatauny Phil). It goes down to the 20's or 30's at night. Daytime temperatures are unpredictable. We'll have a high of 35 one day, but 65 a few days later. I love the warmer days. I don't want to take a coat when I go out in my polar fleece jacket. I am waiting anxiously for Spring.

How was your week?


Monday, January 30, 2017

Menu Monday for 1/30/2017

Week 5. I did not follow my healthy eating plans as carefully as I should have, but nevertheless at my Jenny Craig weigh in I had lost 1.8 pounds for the week! Yea!

This week we do not have any plans to eat out - cooking every night, mostly healthy. On hot dog night I will eat something else. Here are the plans:



Saturday (1/28):  spaghetti (Spaghetti squash), Meatballs, salad

Sunday (1/29):  baked chicken thighs, steamed broccoli, riced cauliflower

Monday (1/30)(Boy Scouts):  hot dogs, beans, carrots, chips

Tuesday (1/31)(Lecturn Training):  London Broil, mashed potatoes, broccoli, kale


Wednesday (2/1):  roast chicken with vegetables, rice, fresh cauliflower

Thursday (2/2)(CAP):  Chicken Breasts w/green beans, egg noodles

Friday (2/3)(Care Group):  Burrito Bowls, Tostitos chips

 

Monday, January 23, 2017

Menu Monday for 1/23/17


Galloping into a new week.

Weight report: weighed in Friday; weight unchanged. Nothing lost, nothing gained.

Activities: This week we have evening meetings Monday and Thursday. Sunday we decided to go to a movie after dinner.

Here's the meal plan for our dinners:



Saturday (1/21):  cheeseburgers, baby carrots

Sunday (1/22)rosemary chicken thighs, riced cauliflower, broccoli

Monday (1/23):  BLTs, milkshakes

Tuesday (1/24):  flank steak, mashed potatoes, green beans

Wednesday (1/25):  chicken fingers, rice, sautéed kale

Thursday (1/26)(CAP):  corn chowder, salad

Friday (1/27):  dinner out

Friday, January 20, 2017

2017 Week 3 in Review

This week has been quite a week for us in comparison to the quiet life we normally lead.

Monday night we had a Boy Scout meeting. My husband is Scoutmaster and I am an Assistant Scoutmaster. There is an issue going on in our troop right now that we are working through -- regarding something that happened on a recent camping trip. It's not an easy issue to work through, and I certainly won't go into it here, but it's taking up a lot of my husband's time and is leaving us drained. My son is not involved -- wasn't on that trip. He stayed home Monday to do some work on his Eagle Scout Project Proposal.


Wednesday my son was scheduled to take his Driver's License test, but there were all these things we needed to take with us for the test -- papers I had lost track of when I cleaned up for Christmas. So Tuesday I tore through boxes and storage folders and bags of papers looking for the New Driver's Logbook, the Driver's Handbook and the two pink pieces of paper given to my son that certified he had taken the driver's ed course and done the six hours of driving with the course. Then once I had found those I had to go through calendars and lesson planners to transfer records of hours driven to the logbook, because the notes had not been written in the logbook as the driving was done. Then there was a form to print out to certify that we have him insured. Finally got it done.


Wednesday we drove to Frederick, Maryland (not the closest Motor Vehicle Administration to us) because we had heard bad things about going to our local MVA for the driving test. We left at 11:00 a.m. for a 2:00 appointment. I figured we'd eat when we got there, but my son ate breakfast late and had no appetite for lunch. We were at the MVA and my son was practicing some driving and parking, but I realized we had only a quarter of a tank of gas, and the MVA specified to make sure the car had half a tank, so we left and got gas.


We reported in at 1:45 for the 2:00 appointment, turned in the paperwork, and then we had to wait. And wait. And wait. At a little before 3:00 hubby was texting me to ask how the test went, but we were still waiting. We had been sent to the car and were in a queue behind the building, but we were still waiting. Finally my son's turn. I got kicked out of the car by a nice instructor (I guess you'd call her) and I went inside to wait.


My son was nervous, but he passed first time and is now a licensed driver! :) 

He is still a little nervous to drive in certain settings, but is willingly tackling small driving tasks. When we got home from the driver's test I let him "solo" driving around the neighborhood. Next day he wanted a haircut and decided to drive himself. Then that night he drove to the store (1 mile) to get a few things.

Wednesday we got a call from an old friend we knew from Denver, Colorado 25 years ago (he now lives in West Virginia). 



He wanted to go to the Inauguration and wondered if he could stay at our house for a couple of nights. We said, "Sure!" He arrived Thursday and went downtown to enjoy some of the pre-inaugural events Thursday. That night the Scoutmaster visited a Cub Scout pack while the young man attended a CAP meeting. The dad met the cadet for the meeting when he was done at Cub Scouts.

Now on Monday my 17 year old son had said to me, "Can we go to the Inauguration?" It wasn't an unreasonable request -- we're really close! But I had no intention of going, so I said, "No." But now our friend was coming and was planning to go. So I asked Don if he would consider taking our son with him, and he did! So my son got to go to the Inauguration! They got up at "0-dark-something" and drove to the local Metro stop, parked there and took the Subway down to DC for the day. My son had a good time, and I was so glad he got to go!


My son, who has a certain amount of anxiety hanging in groups of people he knows, has no anxiety meeting and talking with strangers. Don commented how my son was very sociable and a very pleasant person to make the trip with. I joked with him about "Unsocialized Homeschoolers"!

Friday night mom and dad had a small group meeting ("Care Group"). Saturday will probably be menu planning, grocery shopping, and a movie in the evening. Next week the lad's classes start up at the local community college. I NEED him to take that Accuplacer test, but it hasn't happened, and he needs to get serious about his Eagle project.


How was your week?

Monday, January 16, 2017

Menu Monday for 1/16/17

This was my first week trying to get back on track with my weight loss. Well... I lost weight, but nothing stellar -- 0.2 of a pound weight loss at my weekly weigh-in at Jenny Craig. Boy, kicking sugar is tough. Why did I think it was okay to divert from the "straight and narrow"...?

This week's menu plan was thought through, but is still a balance between meals that I am happy with vs. meals that make my family smile. I'm eating Jenny Craig on the nights when I scheduled hot dogs and French Bread Pizza. (I actually make Italian bread pizza...) Most nights I eat primarily paleo. Here's the plan:



Saturday (1/14):  salmon, sweet potatoes, green beans

Sunday (1/15):  rotisserie chicken, potatoes, broccoli

Monday (1/16):  hot dogs, baked beans, carrots

Tuesday (1/17):  Chili, corn bread, salad

Wednesday (1/18):  pork chops, noodles, brussel sprouts

Thursday (1/19)(CAP):  French Bread Pizza

Friday (1/20):  salmon, yams, green beans







3