Monday, July 16, 2018

Menu Monday for 7/16/18

This week hubby helped me decide on our meals. I find that so helpful! Thursday we have a Civil Air Patrol Change of Command Ceremony with a Combat Picnic (pot luck). I'm taking Tabbouleh, and I'm sure my guys will find lots of meat available to fill their plates! Here is our line-up:

Saturday: Eggplant Parmesan, salad, garlic knots

Sunday: Rotisserie chicken, corn on the cob, steamed zucchini

Monday: Ham steak, macaroni and cheese, green beans

Tuesday: Cheeseburgers, baked beans, salad

Wednesday: Grilled cheese sandwiches, tomato soup

Thursday: Tabbouleh, pot luck

Friday: Date night - dinner out



Thursday, July 12, 2018

Math Refresher for Adults - A TOS Homeschool Crew Review


In June I learned I would be reviewing Math Refresher for Adults,

Math Refresher for Adults

 a book in the Math Essentials series, by Rick Fisher.


Math Essentials

When I initially signed up asking for this review, I wasn't sure if the student would be myself or my son, who is starting college in the fall. As it turns out, the college offered my son a free on-line remedial math course, so I have been the student.


The first thing I did, after reading the introduction, was find myself a fresh new spiral notebook to do my math work. Pages in the book have space for answers to be written down, but I prefer not to do that.


Transferring answers from the notebook to the textbook is an unnecessary opportunity to make a mistake (dropping a negative, or writing the wrong number, etc.)

After getting myself a spiral notebook, I got out a storage box of sharpened pencils to keep by my side whenever I was doing my Math. Then I looked through the available topics in the three page Table of Contents.


I need to tell you though, in the spirit of full disclosure, that I love Math. I love doing Math. So initially I just sat down and worked through the entire first section, one lesson at a time. 


The answers are at the back of the book, so you do a lesson, check a lesson. I am also an editor by nature. I kept looking for errors in the answer key. Oh, I found errors... but they were MY errors. ::sigh:: If I worked too fast 8 + 6 would come up as 12, or I'd miss a negative sign and get the answer wrong.

When I finished section 1, I decided to skip to the back of the book (pre-Algebra/Algebra) where my son would work if he were in this book. I immediately got a "review" question I couldn't answer about the area or circumference of a circle. So I dropped back in the book again to work where I really did need review.

One section where I got the answer wrong was an area question (#5 below):


So as I looked at the problem, I saw a square figure with a side measuring 4-1/2 ft. So I multiplied 4-1/2 X 4-1/2, and I got the answer wrong. The shape is actually a rectangle, and I did not see that one side measures 1-1/2 ft. The reason I mention this is that if I had a student working through this book who did that, with me checking the answers, I wouldn't want to just hand the paper back to the student with a red X next to the answer to #5. If your student gets something wrong, look at it and see if it was a minor mistake. The goal is for the student to be learning, reviewing, filling in gaps.

The better method is to have the student check each lesson's answers himself. It is really easy using the spiral notebook method -- just turn to the back of the book and hold the spiral up to the answer key page and go through the problems one by one. I like the answer circled so it is easy to find the answer to check it.

So, as I said, after initially doing all of the first section (basic addition, subtraction, multiplication, division) I skipped around and worked on topics I needed review on. These included formulas (area of a circle, circumference of a circle) and scientific notation. I don't know why, but for me the presentation in this book for scientific notation really made it click for the first time. I feel really confident about working these problems now, and I never did before.

The way this textbook works is as follows:
  • First, decide on a lesson to work on based on the topic you need to review. The Contents has the subjects divided into these sections: Whole Numbers, Fractions, Decimals, Percents, Geometry, Integers, Charts and Graphs, Word Problems, and Pre-Algebra and Algebra. Within each section, each lesson describes what it focuses on, such as "Circles" in Geometry, or "Square Roots" or "Scientific Notation" in Pre-Algebra and Algebra.
  • Within the lesson you decide to focus on, it will start with "Review Exercises". If you aren't ready for the Review Exercises on that lesson (like I didn't know how to do circumference of a circle) you want to skip back further in the book and understand the "review" topic before doing the lesson you originally had picked.
  • Following the "Review Exercises" in each lesson is a "Helpful Hints" section. This is a reminder of the information you will need to do the rest of the problems in the lesson. If these hints are not enough, you will want to dive into the video component that is available, that I will address below.
  • Each lesson ends with "Problem Solving", which is a little word problem related to the rest of the lesson. Sometimes I just didn't even see these word problems, like my eyes glazed over. When I am in number mode, I sometimes do not want to read words.
Now I need to tell you also about the video component of this product. With the purchase of  Math Refresher for Adults you also get access to video lessons on all math subjects. Math Essentials includes the following textbooks: 
Each of these textbooks comes with a video component, teaching a lesson for each lesson in each book. When you purchase Math Refresher for Adults you get on-line access to the other three textbooks, including the video-lesson component! That is amazing! All you need to do is go to Math Essentials  and click "Videos" on the top menu bar.

Richard Fisher is committed to math literacy in students and adults. His Math Refresher for Adults, with its access to all the other math programs, is something he is making available because he wants to do all that he can to help others succeed in math. It is a wonderful program!

So I have thoroughly enjoyed my time working through my math review using Math Refresher for Adults. My son has not been as successful in his college math review, so I am going to offer this text to him to use, if he wishes, instead of using the college-provided review course. I highly recommend this course to you.

Consider this course if you are preparing to teach your students and are rusty. Consider this course if your student might have gaps in his learning and you want to fill them in. Consider this course if your student seems advanced and you want to see if they are ready for the next level. Consider this course if your student is preparing for the ACT, the SAT, or the Math Accuplacer, or your student is graduating and preparing to take a college math readiness test. It is a great course.

To see what other members of the Schoolhouse Review Crew  thought of Math Refresher for Adults, click on the link below to read their reviews.
Math Refresher for Adults {Math Essentials}

Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Menu Monday for 7/9/18

Menu plans again. This week includes family input and requests. Monday night we had a dinner planned, but got invited to go out by a neighbor. Here's the plan:


Saturday (7/7):  chicken Caesar salad, rolls

Sunday (7/8):  steak, salad, rice pilaf

Monday (7/9): Thai food (restaurant)

Tuesday (7/10) (CAP): Grandma’s chili (OAMC page 127), salad, corn bread

Wednesday (7/11): salmon, macaroni & cheese, broccoli

Thursday (7/12)(CAP): Barbecued chicken, corn on the cob, salad

Friday (7/13): Date night: dinner out
 

Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Going Out of Business (Homeschool) Sale

Twenty-seven years of homeschooling, and I am retiring, going out of business, down-sizing, getting rid of books. For my readers in the "States", I am selling at rock-bottom prices. Buyer pays actual postage. If you want to pay via Paypal, you (the buyer) need to pay the fee (or if you are a friend, pay using the "send money to a friend" feature).

I will be posting a bit at a time as I can. Here's my first list. Will send photos to those who ask.

10 cent books:
Study guides:
Cliffs Notes on Dickens' A Tale of Two Cities
Monarch Notes: Dickens' Tale of Two Cities
Barnes & Noble Book Notes: Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter
Cliffs Notes on London's The Call of the Wild & White Fang
Cliffs Notes on Steinbeck's Grapes of Wrath
Cliffs Notes on Twain's Huckleberry Finn 

Homer: The Odyssey (Translated by W.H.D. Rouse)
Sophocles: The Theban Plays (King Oedipus; Oedipus at Colonus; Antigone)
Virgil: The Aeneid

Cameron, Eleanor: The Wonderful Flight to the Mushroom Planet (falling apart)
Cameron, Eleanor: Stowaway to the Mushroom Planet
Cleary, Beverly: Dear Mr. Henshaw
Clemens, Samuel: Tom Sawyer Abroad/Tom Sawyer Detective
Gipson, Fred: Old Yeller
Henry, Marguerite: Stormy, Misty's Foal
Melville, Herman: Billy Budd, Foretopman (copywright 1965)
Merrill, Jean: The Toothpaste Millionaire
Rounds, Glen: The Blind Colt
Steinbeck, John: The Red Pony
Tedrow, T.L.: Missouri Homestead (The Days of Laura Ingalls Wilder, Book One)
Van Cleefe, Mark: Charlie The Lonesome Cougar
White, E.B.: Stuart Little
Wyeth, Sharon Dennis: My America: Freedom's Wings: Corey's Underground Railroad Diary

Rod & Staff Latin America Coloring Book


25 cent books:
Keepers At Home: The Stepping Stones Handbook (2 copies)
Austen, Jane: Persuasion
Beatty, Patricia: Be Ever Hopeful, Hannalee 
Melville, Herman: Billy Budd, Sailor (ISBN 0-671-02833-2)

SAT Vocabulary Preparation Series, by Josh Burk:
I.M. for MURDER
Operation High School
Planet Exile
The $ummer of $aint Nick 

50 cent books:
Sophocles, the Complete Plays, Translated by Paul Roche

MathTutorDVD.com DVDs:
1) The Algebra 2 Tutor: 6 Hour Video Course
2) The Basic Math Word Problem Tutor: 8 Hour Video Course
 
For the Homeschooling Parents:
Teaching Children: A Curriculum Guide to What Children Need to Know at Each Level Through Sixth Grade, by Diane Lopez
Homeschooling with a Meek and Quiet Spirit, by Teri Maxwell
All the Way Home: Power for your Family To Be its Best, by Mary Pride
Schoolproof: How to Help Your Family Beat the System and Learn to Love Learning--The Easy, Natural Way, by Mary Pride
The Homeschooling Father, by Michael Farris  
Books Children Love: A Guide to the Best Children's Literature, by Elizabeth Wilson

$1.00 books:

Salem Books (New):
Leslie, Emma: Glaucia, The Greek Slave
Leslie, Emma: Leofwine the Monk -or- The Curse of the Ericsons
Leslie, Emma: Soldier Fritz and The Enemies He Fought

Tapestry of Grace, Year 4:
Nicolson, Harold: The Congress of Vienna--A Study in Allied Unity: 1812-1822
The Encyclopedia of Music: Instruments of the Orchestra and the Great Composers (ISBN 1-84309-436-3)
Music of the Great Composers: A Listener's Guide to the Best of Classical Music, by Patric Kavanaugh (ISBN 0-30-20807-6)

Grace and Truth Books Collector's Edition: 7 favorite 18-century children's stories (ISBN 1-58339-124-X)

Monday, July 2, 2018

Menu Monday for 7/2/18

This week my family asked me to plan to serve more meat than last week, so you will see that reflected in these plans. Here is what we will eat this week:


Saturday (6/30):  Tacos, Tostitos, salad

Sunday (7/1):  Barbecued chicken, corn on the cob, salad

Monday (7/2): BLTs, milk shakes, potato chips

Tuesday (7/3): Indian Lentils and rice, salad

Wednesday (7/4): Ribs, cole slaw, macaroni salad

Thursday (7/5)(CAP): spaghetti, salad, TX knots

Friday (7/6): Date night: dinner out

 
3